The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

What's going on?

Stroud Sacred Music Festival was in full flow today. Drum circle in the churchyard is the scene we see here. I was in the market, with my stall, and popped out to see what was happening. I'm a bit ashamed that I didn't go to any of the events, but after spending several hours standing up in the very hot market hall, I was ready to pack up when the signal was given; to watch the second half of the England game: to eat ice cream and drink wine, not forgetting the trashy novel...

Anyway, I sold more cards than yesterday. My first sale covered the rent. That was a relief. In Stroud, it was hotter than ever. The streets were full of dogs panting. Ice cream queues were lengthy. I think we'll all start going a bit crazy soon. Someone asked me today for a golden wedding card. I started looking through my wedding cards, to see if I could find a golden one...oops!

Personally, I don't remember a summer as full of heat, strawberries and ice cream and this one. In 1976, I was twelve. Ice cream and strawberries were rationed at boarding school. I loved the long summer evening because I could stay up late, reading in full daylight. 'Lights out' was a meaningless phrase. Having been caught two years earlier, sitting on the windowsill absorbing the light from the nearby senior wing, I was careful never to be observed again. I also remember staying up what seemed like all night, to complete a project on The Snowy Owl. Or was it The Sherpas of Nepal? Was school weird, or was I? I mean, how many twelve year olds...

Steve is off at the crack of dawn tomorrow, and o have the day free to finish my trashy novel. Apart from a meeting at 10, I have nothing else to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.