Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Waiting for Breakfast

We were having our morning coffee on the deck (before it got MISERABLY HOT) and Pipersdad spotted this spider.  She had woven her web between two branches of the maple tree but, from a distance, it looked like she was suspended in mid air.  It was hard to get a shot where the web showed up and this was the best one so it's my blip today.  We got to watch her catch an insect and quickly wrap it and eat it.  Unfortunately, I couldn't get a shot of that.

We did a few errands and did our food shopping for the trip and were back home by 10:30.  On the way home my car thermometer said it was 90F.  I spent about 30 minutes in the camper putting away all the food but then I had to give up on doing anything else in there.  We are plugged into electricity but we don't have the amperage to run the A/C so it was ridiculously hot inside.  By the time I came in the house it was 98 and it continued up to 105 this afternoon.  The high temperature at the campground where we'll be comfortably ensconced by this time tomorrow, was 80.  I can't wait!!  So we still have a few things left to do and I decided I'd better mow the lawn, so I'll do that after sunset.  I'm going to be visiting journals but just sprinkling stars for the next few days until we get settled.  

I am very grateful that we are able to escape this heat wave for a few weeks!!  And I'm grateful that none of the wildfires are very near where we will be going.  I hope it stays that way!  There is a complete fire ban so we won't be having campfires but that makes me feel safer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.