Quiet Water Paddling

Yesterday's blip was taken on the sea, lots of water and sky in the picture. So, as a contrast here is one of our local paddle sites (Also blipped by Jan). We set off from a lakeside beach I've blipped before (summer and winter), along the lake and then through this small stream to another lake.
50 metres in front of my boat is a large beaver lodge but I'd never actually seen any beavers there. Kayaks are very quiet when paddled gently and as I eased through those reeds ahead there was a huge splash in front of me, as the beaver swimming there noticed a giant blue thing creeping up on it, slapped its tail on the water and dived.
Wow!
Then its head (well, eyes anyway) popped up again to check what this was that had disturbed its work. It swam around for 30 seconds or so watching us watching it, then one more splash and it had gone.
I decided I'd go back and sit quietly in the kayak with camera at the ready another time, but World Cup soccer was starting soon so we paddled onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.