Hastings

I picked Chrissy up this morning and drove to Hastings to meet Kate and her friend Karen.  I haven't met the other Karen before, and Chrissy didn't know either Kate or Karen, but we all got on really well and had a lovely day. As Kate said in her blip, the Brighton Blondes met the Hailsham Brunettes :-)

We had a wander round the fishing quarter which you can see here and then we went up the East Hill Funicular (photo of the four of us in my extras), we had a wander enjoying the views and then went back down.  We stopped for a drink, went to see the Lifeboat as the RNLI had an open day, strolled along George Street which is full of trendy bars, restaurants and antique shops, and then went up the West Hill Funicular.  

We had lunch at the cafe at the top of West Hill and sat enjoying the view, before walking to the pier.  Karen spotted the Sheikh who has just bought the pier (he owns Eastbourne Pier too).  At the moment it's a very big open space, so it'll be interesting to see what he does with it.

We left at 3.30pm as it's an hour & 20 minute drive home and I was expecting a phone call at 5pm from my medical insurance about my ongoing treatment for my achilles.  Luckily I made it back in time and had a very positive outcome - they've agreed I can continue having acupuncture with Annabel the physiotherapist where I work.  Except there's a slight twist, I can't have the treatment at work because I'm not covered under our policy at our clinic, but I can go to the other clinic that she works at!

Tonight has been spent in the garden and the Palace, where we raised a glass to a very special man - it was 6 years ago today that my Dad passed away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.