The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Bessie Ellen at Oban

Another lovely day in Argyll. My two younger sisters and two of my nieces and I went into Oban to shop for wedding attire and accessories. Between a few charity shops we found almost everything we needed.

We celebrated with a meal-deal lunch on the North pier, watching the ferries go in and out. This is where I saw Bessie Ellen. As we sat finishing our meal, we saw someone who looked very like our cousin A walking past. Eventually someone realised it was him, and his family, in town for tomorrow's wedding. We chatted for a while, then went home via a supermarket and the back road, because by this time we'd acquired an extra niece and two rolls of chicken wire, and the car was far too full...

In the back garden, it was so sunny I changed into shorts, and read and lounged until it was time to cook supper. We had tuna steaks and salad, and eventually my sister K came back from her evening shift at the shop, followed by her two grown up.boys. Once again, it seems to be half past one in the morning, and I've only just got into bed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.