Poldark country

One for my mum as I know she enjoys Poldark...or maybe it's just the man who plays him! Either way, everything in Charlestown, the small harbour village we visited today, made mention of the popular tv show. We arrived here after an initial stop in St Austell left us very disappointed. I don't know what we were expecting, but not drap streets full of charity shops. Even though we had paid for 4 hours in the car park we stayed barely 1! At Charlestown we wanted to visit the shipwreck centre, which we did (to the left of the photo). We also enjoyed coffee in a pleasant cafe, bought a few souvenirs and had a nice walk around the harbour. We then had our first Cornish pasty before visiting the museum. The shipwreck museum was crammed with treasure scrambled from the seabed. It almost made us want to learn scuba diving - but not quite! There is an attraction with treasure hunting, where ever it is located.

We left at 4ish and drove back for a little bit of sitting in the sun by the caravan. Luckily we now have shade and it's nice to be able to sit outside. I've put long light trousers on though, as I was bitten last night. I cooked a very nice chicken Korma and we now have an evening of relaxing. No plans to go out again. Last night we played scrabble dice, so tonight it might be cards.

Looking forward to a day on site tomorrow. If it's warm we can use the swimming pool. I would like to finish reading a book....that is the sign of a relaxing holiday if I've managed to finish at least one!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.