WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Trick of the light

This afternoon I went to a free portrait workshop being given by photographer Martin Dawson at the art gallery in Olonzac. It was only a couple of hours long, but surprisingly interesting. It wasn't about studio photography; he mainly showed us how to use natural light to best advantage. Here he is showing us how the harsh mid-afternoon light bouncing off the wall to the left casts a soft glow on the model's face. This is not something that had occurred to me, but I'll certainly be looking out for it now.

Back home, catch the last 10 minutes of The Match. Celebrations in the village seemed surprisingly low-key. But in any case I was off out to my English book group. The journey was a bit hazardous because of the number of cars slaloming along the road at high speed, French flags projecting from the windows, drivers' fists pumping the air. I was glad it was much quieter when I set off home, once we'd all appreciated the cool of Irene's shady arbour after the heat of the day, and admired the new moon rising over her beautiful wild garden. 

There'd been toros de fuego in the village, but I didn't get home till after it had finished. I expect the ambiance was something else. But I was so tired by now that I just went to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.