Eden

Our whole holiday was planned around visiting the Eden Project. I had bought our tickets online before we came away.

We arrived at about 9.15 along with a few others. It opened at 9.30. By the time we had walked down from the car park and converted an online code to three x 1 year passes, the heavens had opened. After hovering at the door we just took the plunge (in t shirts and shorts....raincoats were in the car!!). It was a short shower but still warm and petered out quickly. And there began an informative and scientifically very interesting journey through the changes to our earth and all the different living beings over billions of years. Moving through the years by the millions, and seeing how organisms evolved and were then made extinct by various different catastrophies affecting the earth and its atmosphere. It was mind boggling and fascinating, but too complicated for me to take in. I want to know how the scientists know all this. Perhaps I don't. I think it was saying everything will change again in time and something new will evolve after human life, but my guess is we have millions of years yet.

The biomes - those giant white golf ball styled structures - we're fascinating. We all favoured the tropical one. I love plants with big leaves. Being here has made me want to completely re-design my garden. I need something new to do at home...

We had pizza for dinner in the Mediterranean biome which was quite atmospheric. Small birds, robins and blackbirds were hopping around hoping for crumbs. Not as threatening as the gulls yesterday, although I did duck when one flew over me!

Outside the sun had come out and it was very hot. The landscaped areas were full of native plants, flowers and vegetables, herbs and fragrant walls of lavender. I took lots of photos with my proper camera. I also tweeted a nice picture of the biomes from a set position where they direct you to take photos from.

We left at 4 after a little while in the gift shop. I bought a badge for my camp blanket and a Canna. I'm going to try hard to keep it alive as it was quite expensive.

We seem to be spending a lot of money on not very much, so headed to Bodmin to find somewhere for a cup of tea and to do some shopping. Perfect - we found Morrison's. Drinks for all 3 of us for £3.85!! We made a shopping list while we drank the tea then shopped before driving back to St Columb. Back at the caravan Jon emptied our toilet cassette and i filled our water container.

I felt exhausted after a day of slow walking in the humid atmosphere and then dozed a bit. I think it will be an evening of reading and then an early night. Nothing special planned for tomorrow so we will watch the weather and then decide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.