Top finished

But in the photo Jon took of me from the front, I looked too huge, so this is the back. If you imagine that the original pattern was for a halter neck, then in this you can see the extra straps I added.

A busy day, which I will try to whizz through. Up at 8 a made the tea, my once a week effort. After Jon and Henry had gone out to archery, I started ironing. Enjoyed The Archers as I hadn't heard it at all this week, and another sad storyline (although mum said she had died in real life a while ago). Mum brought my top round, nicely hemmed! I can hem, of course, but she offered! Took Mollie to work, and enjoyed a late coffee when the boys got home, with a cream scone.

After lunch we loaded up the car with all sorts, and drove to the allotment. There, Jon and Henry dug a second bed, then I dug it over, weeded and planted the purple sprouting broccoli. We then used two of the table frames and covered with the netting. We tidied, moved our (empty) water tank into the position we want it in, and left feeling happy we had done a good job.

Home and cooked a roast, inviting mum and dad to join us, we sat 5 around their old ercol family dining table that I restored. It's been a while since we did that.

A bit of weeding, a bit of hoovering, and finally an hour on my laptop doing some family history stuff. Specifically getting a bit more info on my Whitaker ancestors. Those born in the 1700s came from Haworth (of Brontë fame) so we will be spending a week of our holiday in West Yorkshire and I intend search the graveyard again.

Roll on 12th August, when we hook up the caravan, and head north. Can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.