Tintagel

We had a bit of rain over night here in Cornwall, and the campers/caravaners among you will know it always sounds much worse than it actually is. I did wake on and off through the night, but at 9 I got up and the skies were cloudy but with some blue bits. It looked like we were in for another nice day. I'm pleased to say it wasn't very hot. We wore shorts but I also had a light shirt over my t-shirt. We arrived at Tintagel, home of the King Arthur and Merlin legends. It was busy, and after parking we found a quaint tea shop (there were many) and sat outside for our first proper Cornish cream tea. It didn't disappoint. Then began a slow and steady dissection of every single gift shop. It took a while. We went back to the car for our picnic, then down to the castle. A steep slope to the craggy bay where English Heritage have claimed a chunk of the coast and planted their shop and cafe. We bought tickets and began our ascent to the top via many uneven steps, which took us to the remains of Tintagel castle. It is located on a piece of land jutting out from the main land, which was almost severed during a storm several hundred or more years ago (I didn't buy a guide book!) when loads of the cliff collapsed taking with it part of the castle. There are lots of 'rooms' on the island, which the details say are Dark Ages. This large sculpture is at the far side and is of..you guessed it, King Arthur! An interesting but tiring day. Sooo many steps. I am very unfit. Walking back up to the main part of the village was a challenge in itself, but we didn't resort to paying for a land rover to take us back, which many did.

Henry spent all of his holiday money on an Excalibur...he has a nice growing collection of swords. Can't imagine where he gets it from! I bought a beautiful Spong mincer in its original (battered) box. I'm going to put it on a shelf in my utility room. When I have a utility room. And a shelf. The shop I bought it in has loads of vintage toys as a small museum, plus more toys for sale. There were several Pelham puppets. Luckily out of my price range. In the museum there was a small wind up baby doll. I'm sure it is the same as one I had. I've been searching all my life for one, but my memory of mine is hazy. I think I was only 3 or 4. I'm going to add a photo and see if my mum remembers it.

On our way home we went via Port Isaac - Port Wenn in the Doc Martin series. A beautiful little harbour town, full of tiny cottages and extremely narrow streets. I took lots of photos.

Back home and Henry did dinner on the barbeque. Now we are enjoying the last of the day outside. I've put my poncho on as it's cool, but no wind and no rain....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.