So glad this day is over

I've been sleeping in my recliner in the living room to ward off attacks of vertigo from lying flat, but last night I just wanted to be in my bed.  I thought I'd built up enough pillows to keep my head more upright, but I was wrong.  The minute my head hit the pillow, the room started to swim.  By the time I managed to get myself up, I was covered with perspiration and really off-kilter.  So it was back to the recliner.  It's left me feeling really strange today - thank goodness I've finally got my therapy appointment for tomorrow.

I would have liked to just stay home, but I needed to get to PetSmart to buy Minkelina's chow and a new scratching post.  I'd noticed that her claws had gotten really long and she kept snagging them on things.  And I realized that we'd had the last one for ten years - it was time for a new one.  I had no idea there were so many types and sizes and ridiculous prices (see Extra.)  I eventually chose this one.  I hope she will like it - she hasn't been near it yet. 

Then I went to Central Market and on the way home, in heavy traffic, I accidentally side-swiped a car I was trying to pass to get into the turn lane.  Since the driver didn't stop when his/her car got to where I was, I don't know what kind of car it was or what damage it sustained.  Mine looks pretty bad - the whole passenger side is scratched and the side mirror is broken.

The only thing positive about all this is that filing a claim with Geico was as easy and pleasant as it could possibly be.  I'll be taking the car into a nearby shop on Thursday morning and the claims adjuster will meet me there with a rental car.  After my $500 deductible, Geico will cover the rest of the cost, as well as costs if the other driver files a claim.  Now I just have to wait to find out how big a premium increase there will be.  I think the after-effects of the vertigo attack probably contributed to my doing this.

Tomorrow's temperature is expected to be in the upper 70's rather than 80's, so we'll have a couple of days of cooler temps.  However, we'll be warming up to 90 on Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.