Bagels: The First Attempt

Success!

We needed some bread or bagels so I decided to make bagels. I've made several kinds of breads by hand and am getting pretty good at it but hadn't yet tried making bagels. So, with my Company's Coming recipe book Breads in hand (well, on the counter), I set forth.

The dough is much like other doughs for pizza, bread, etc. The difference was in making the rings and boiling lightly for a minute per side, then brushing with some egg, and sprinkling on whatever. The recipe makes 12 in all so I made 3 each of plain, sesame seed, onion flakes, and shredded mozzarella. They turned out fine. Yummy! The only minor setback was in the pinching of the rings. I didn't secure them well enough and about half of them separated in the water as you can see in the photo. They still tasted the same but I'll have to pinch them a bit harder next time.

The book's parent website doesn't have a recipe online but this one is pretty close to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.