Old wooden water pipes

These hollowed-out logs are currently on display to the side of Middle Meadow Walk. I saw them on my walk to work this morning. They are old wooden water pipes made from entire trunks of elm trees, well-known for their damp-repellent properties. These ones were recently dug up in George Square when some new pipes were being laid.

It took me nearly all day to clear the email that had accumulated in my in-box since last week. Then I had a lovely chat with a senior colleague who seemed very pleased to see me back at work, reviewed some PhD work, and started working out how I can deliver the new version of my final year module next semester.

This evening plans have been made for another mission to the parental abode next weekend. I will be taking over from my not-so-little sister, and the middle one will be in charge next week to allow me return to Edinburgh once more.

Exercise today: sit-ups, weights and stretches; walking (14,018 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.