Pretty in Pink

I think these are hydrangea flowers from the leaves, but I have never seen such bright pink ones before. They were so shockingly cheery as they pushed out of a hedge in Bruntsfield this morning that they deserved a photo call.

It has become hotter and hotter as the day has progressed and far be it from me to complain, although I have had to retreat to the coolness of the house to post this blip.

With my inbuilt pessimism, (I blame my parents), I can’t help wondering how many rotten summers will follow this amazing one to even out the balance. I certainly won’t be around if I have to wait another 42 years .
Meanwhile it’s on with the sunblock and an afternoon reading under the sunshade, wondering why I can’t be relaxed like this sitting inside when it’s raining.
The butler may even bring me out a gin and tonic for refreshment........if I ask.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.