From the Inside Looking Out

The good thing about the Dower House, stone house built over 150 years ago with 3ft thick walls, is that in hotter than hell weather, it is cool and welcoming from the heat outside.
Unfortunately, hot weather is not a particular feature of life in Edinburgh, and in the cold weather more commonly experienced, this particular house albeit with its 3ft thick walls has a total of 20 single glazed windows and feels like an ice box.

Still, it has been a haven today when the temperature is still in the 20s outside, and I can sit at the open door, feeling cool as I watch the Tour cyclists inch their way up today’s ride in the Alps. I was hoping Geraint Thomas would deliver something spectacular today but I think his effort is not spectacular enough.

I’m looking forward to my TGIF wine in an hour even though two of our members are absent. They are in Iceland keeping cool..........well that’s one solution to the heat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.