Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Desert Queen

The Adventurous Life of Northern Hero, Gertrude Bell as told by playwright David Farn, pictured in my blip. This is the world premiere of the play which is on a short tour in the North East.

I went with Julie and David and Moira. I had been told that David and Moira knew the playwright, but when I arrived, I realised that I knew him too. David Farn and his wife have been coming to recent Haltwhistle Walking Festivals.

The play is brilliant. It's a two hander and Gertrude is played with great depth by Phillippa Wilson. All other parts are played by Brian Lonsdale. If you don't know about Gertrude Bell you are in for a treat. She was a truly remarkable woman.

When we came out, the heavens had opened and it was tipping it down. As I drove home from Newcastle, the sky was regularly illuminated by pink sheet lightening. Very dramatic. Too much cloud to see the lunar eclipse.

I was up early to put the programme for our autumn festival on the web. Then the district nurse arrived to see Mum followed by Marjorie who stayed for lunch. I did some singing with her - great fun. Then I sent off the files for the printed programme to the printer.

I'm looking forward to a rest tomorrow when it should be cooler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.