Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Creating something

In an effort to get away from the computer (which I spend entirely too much time sitting in front of)  and make use of some watercolors I bought about a year ago, I decided to do what an Instagram friend has done.  She uses pages from an old book to create short poems from a few words and draws designs, patterns or whatever on the page for decoration...to "restory" the book. 

   I had a stack of old books  which were going to be donated that I had purchased many years ago about the old west, one being about "wild women" which is the one I decided to use.    In keeping with the book theme of women, I started looking for words on a page that would be about women who are brave and "wild".    This is one of the pages.  

The poem is..   

Good women unafraid
live to the fullest
Fabulous reality.

I have four pages done and hope to do a page or more every day until the end of August.  A challenge to step out of my comfort zone without the camera and still be creating.     I probably need to take some watercolor lessons on YouTube!    I also have some markers and colored pencils but  a box of Crayola crayons..64 count..might be a good investment. 

Comments are very welcome on this and ideas if you have any.  I know I will run out of things to draw since I am not at all an artist.   The stars will be a recurring item on each page even if they don't go with the rest of the art.  They are symbols for something else that I might share at a later date as I get comfortable with this.  Sharing here on blipfoto was a big step into uncomfortable.     I might have to resurrect my blog to keep these in one place.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.