The Long Border

Felt at a loose end today. Nothing in the calendar and Gill wasn't picking up her phone when I tried to get in touch, so no going out to play there. Len sped off to go swimming.

So Basil and I went to Whatton Gardens which are always very peaceful. I took my 5dmkiii thinking to experiment with some multi exposure in camera. It wasn't necessarily successful but I always learn something.

Just before we left, we turned the corner round the wall to view the long border which had been full of old English geraniums in June. Now it has summer blooms, and there was Lady Crawshaw weeding out the dead growth from earlier in the summer. We chatted for a while. She tells me she never does a 'Chelsea Crop' on her geraniums because they're always still flowering at the time, although she has a couple of tall flowering plants that flop over and she crops them.

Basil and I had been to the big pond. We must have stayed there for an hour. I was fascinated watching a dragonfly forge a path to and fro nearby. I spotted three species today including the Migrant Hawker in the extra. Three moulted mallards were sheltering under a willow.

Overcast this evening. Len has disappeared yet again to play tennis this time. I have at least made the curry and fancy an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.