Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

What a day... 
Early rise to catch the train to Stockholm with a friend of mine (she that has the allotment...). Then we had to walk for a bit, because they're rebuilding in a lot of places in Stockholm, to take a tramcar to our next destination which was an art museum. We saw a beautiful exhibition by the Swedish artist Lars Lerin who (as you see if you follow the link) paints in aquarelle and he's so talented. It was a fantastic exhibition and I took a lot of photos - after asking if I could take photos. Two funny things happened at the art museum... A lady came to me and started complimenting my braid and my hair and my hair colour (I didn't have the heart to tell her most of the colour is an old hair die...). Then when I started to take photos inside the first room, another lady came up to me and asked if we could take photos and I said yes, so she picked up her phone to take some she as well. When she saw my camera, I heard the classic comment: 'What a nice camera, it must take very good photos'. I told her it was an oldie and that I sometimes use my iPhone too. She then saw I have a Pentax and told me that her husband worked with cameras (not sure how and what) and they have a Pentax at home, but not a DSLR (she didn't say that, she described it as 'the other one', meaning a SLR, and not a DSLR...). She was also lovely to talk too, but my friend had disappear into the next room so I told the lady that it was nice talking to her and went after my friend. We walked there for a while, looking, enjoying and talking about his technique (I'm a beginner, my friend has more knowledge...).
Afterwards we took the tramcar back into town, and after eating lunch we walked to the Old Town. The Old Town has so manny beautiful alley ways and this is just one of them. The Old Town was packed with people so getting a shot were there are no people at all, that was pure luck! Then we walked back, feet starting to hurt a bit... and sweaty and so hot in the sun. We thought that it would be more of a rainy day so I had an umbrella with me (a large un-foldable one) and my friend had a jacket... but no... sunny and very warm, and moist too. We went to Kulturhuset, a place for art and design, and lectures. And this week a lot of lectures going on in the spirit of Pride week. We'd seen an exhibition we wanted to see and befor it opened we bought a cup of tea and a biscuit and sat down. Very nice to sit down... :D 
That exhibition was really nice too!
Then we went to the train station to go home. We were lucky because there was a train coming within 15 minutes. And then we went back to Uppsala... or, rather we started the journey and got stopped at Arlanda, because the police said we (the train) couldn't come any further. We stayed there for 30-40 minutes and then finally started moving again. Then we came to the last station before Uppsala (about 10 minutes away - by train) and got the information that the train will not go any further because of the incident happening before and the police stopped all train traffic in to Uppsala. Just as the whole train was preparing to rush of and get to the bus we got an urgent message that we were going all the way to Uppsala. What a relief!! Trying to get on a bus, with lots of people from a packed train... not so much fun!
Funny thing was, that when I sat on my bus home it started to rain heavily, so I got use of my umbrella after all! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.