FINALLY

My brother Colin and I  haven't seen each other for many years as he suffers from Aspergers and has gradually stopped meeting up for one reason or another.  I was supposed to meet him last week but he cancelled at the last minute and we arranged another meeting for today.  He phoned last night and as soon as I heard his voice I assumed he was ringing to cancel - but No - he was just checking that I was still wanting to meet.

So this afternoon at 1.30pm I turned up on his doorstep - and he answered the door ( previously he hasn't answered the door when my other brother used to call ) We walked to Saltwell Park which is nearby and spent a couple of hours wandering around in there.  Luckily the weather was nice. 

Colin is looking older than I imagined.  He looks older than me I think - even though he's 13 years younger.  He was surprised to see what I looked like as I have lost 4 stone in weight since we last met.  I'm hoping that this will be the start of him wanting to connect with the rest of the family - we will take it slow and steady though and let him go at his own pace.

My main blip shot is of Colin beside the boating lake in the park.   Saltwell Park is a Victorian park which was opened in 1876.  In my extras I have added a few shots taken around the park.  Saltwell Towers is a large fairytale mansion in red brick with Gothic turrets and mock battlements and was built in 1871 by a local stained glass maker. At the west entrance you will find the 'Salte Well'  - dated 1872.   Also in Extras is an example of public art -   Juxtaposition - four steel tables and eight hand-carved granite spheres created by a Japanese artist.  The park was very busy today - lots of children enjoying the boating lake, miniature train rides, play equipment and looking at the birds in the  aviary. And eating ice cream - lots of ice cream.

Colin went home after our meeting and I got the bus to Gateshead.

Steps today - 12,354

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.