NellieD

By NellieD

After spending the night watching a Shakespearan Romeo's pants falling down in Heaton Park, I decided to have a quiet morning and pop into town to photo a couple of the Bees in the City. Four hours, 8+ miles and 39 bees later, I finally made it home!

So many different encounters today which have never happened before I started taking photos! 

In the Northern Quarter, I saw some beautiful sunflowers on a balcony which I decided to blip.  As I walked away, a man shouted after me to say it 'filled his heart with joy' to see someone photographing the flowers. Apparently the shops are all competing in a 'best sunflower competition'.  Unfortunately the hairdresser's sunflower head blew off in the wind so he's definitely now in the running!

The Bee in the City trail has definitely become a talking point and it's lovely to see people interacting around them. I saw a toddler run towards one shouting 'bee, bee'. They were a German family and told me it's the first English word he's learnt.

Then, after being one bee behind a guy on the trail, we got chatting and did the next 30 bees together till my battery, and feet gave up!  I hadn't intended to take so many photos but as you're chatting and walking, the time just flies by!!  He was a sports photographer so it was great to get some photography tips as we walked round, and for me to point out all the random bits of Manchester history I know!

I hadn't intended to use the bees as today's blip, but since the day centred around photographing them, it seemed the right photo to use.  It will be a memory of a lovely, unexpected morning!  

Quote for today:
Strangers are just friends I haven't met yet.
- Will Rogers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.