Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My Best friend

What a splendid day this turned out to be.  Mom and I slept in late then shared the newspaper while listening to Frank Sinatra's music.  We went out to Coach's for burgers and to watch some of the PGA Championships. I was never a Tiger fan early in his career but was really rooting for him today.

Then we went to our new T.J. Maxx.  Mom got some more new clothes: three tops and a pair of skinny jeans (which are amazingly appropriate for her right now).  She was quite excited.  I bought a pair of New Balance sneakers and a hedgehog...that to be explained in a future blip.
I thought Mom would have run out of gas by then and I wanted to go to the Best Buy in Tucson, so I offered to take her home first.  But she was raring to go so off we went.  

I've lost track of how many three's of bad things have happened lately but the 50" television currently hanging in the living room is limping to its finish line.  I've been surfing the web in search of what I wanted and thought today would be the day to take the plunge.  It will arrive and be installed and programmed on Friday. While I was doing my thing in Best Buy, Mom was having a blast playing hide and seek with two very cute little boys.  I asked one of the employees to keep an eye on her and if Mom started to look a bit confused, to send her my way.  The girl was wonderful and told me later her grandma has dementia so it was fun to see my mom having so much fun.

We had a blast on the ride home trying to remember the words to the songs we were attempting to sing.  We both sound like sick frogs.
She kept looking at her new clothes and telling me how exciting it was to have gone shopping and bought new things when we got home.  Everything fit perfectly.  She was a bundle of energy and kept fooling around.  She likes when I take her photo but has claimed "to delete or to not delete" as her sole prerogative.  She liked what I did with this one so she wants the boys to each have one.  I told her I would print, mat and frame them.  She can pay the postage.

Time for us to wind down now.  She just went to bed.  I think things are getting easier for her because she has stopped asking me where she is supposed to sleep...just heads right to my  her bedroom. Tomorrow: cleaning, therapy, dropping by her house to pick up a few things and some alone time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.