If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Sungold

A day round home catching up on odd things that needed to be done.  So the blip is a bit of an emergency blip.  Every year I have tomatoes in the greenhouse.  Generally a mix of established reliable varieties and a few "different" ones.

This year one I chose was Sungold.  The label told me it was a cherry tomato and the name suggested it would be one of the yellow varieties.  Now they have started to ripen I am surprised to see they are more orange than gold.  Colour doesn't matter after all it is the taste they are grown for and the one I have tried so far was very good.

The official statements about Sungold F1 say it is an exceptional flavour and vigerous.  So far they seem to be telling the truth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.