The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Snooker hall cafe

I'd never been upstairs in Curio Lounge before. Clearly I'd missed a treat. The premises was formerly a Burton menswear store, which closed in the 1990s, with a snooker hall above, as used to to be the custom. The snooker hall closed later, and Curio opened in about 2014. It's s bar with food, and hot/ cold drinks.

My meeting there was non-productive: I arrived early, at five to four, after work, and failed to see my friend downstairs, so went upstairs. She arrived at four and waited downstairs. I called and texted her repeatedly, and eventually left after forty minutes, as Steve and I had a date to do some work in the garden. She waited an hour and a half, but never saw me come downstairs and leave! For once, she didn't have her phone on her!

The garden work was tough, on top of a day at work that involved a lot of running. Afterwards we had a gin and tonic, to celebrate finishing that little task. Then my friend rang and we worked out what had gone wrong. I invited her for supper, but got slightly p*ssed on the G and T, and decided to make s Spanish omelette WHILE running a bath, and then have a bath and wash my hair....I felt as if I was on drugs and had to about twenty things in twenty minutes!

However, it all came together. We had the omelette, salad and a pudding that the friend provided, and coffee (decaffeinated): very elaborate for a Wednesday evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.