Puddle

It’s been a rare sight in the city recently, but it tipped it down today, much to the relief of all plants. We hunkered down in the office during lunch as it was too wet. I treated myself to a cheese and tomato toastie from the canteen. Heading off to Inverness this evening meant no packed lunch for me (I didn’t want to trek my Tupperware there and back). The toastie was tasty.

I managed to alleviate all LMP (Last Minute Panic) by packing and sorting all last night and not having to return home between work and the sleeper. I had lots of time to walk to Euston and catch the train. It was just as well because the lounge car on the Inverness section is shut. This happened recently when Fred travelled on the sleeper. Serco seem to be running the old rolling stock into the ground before the new trains come in (meant to be this year but I see on Twitter that only the Lowlander is getting new stock in 2018 - the Highland line has to wait until spring 2019!) I mind a bit as I was planning to have some dinner here, but I was in good time so headed out into Euston Station for a pastie and tea.

I’m used to this rundown nonsense and I feel for folk who’ve saved to do this expensive train trip and have been excited to experience it.

It’s still much better than flying, though. Far, far less faff and stress, and I don’t have to take off my belt and panic about scissors.

Onwards to Inverness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.