Rodents rule

By squirk

You can't see me

On our last morning in Inverness with our guests, we headed down to Dores for a view of Loch Ness. We didn't see the monster but, in a walk through Dores Wood, Jason spotted a bit of tree that wasn't tree – a tawny owl! It had its eyes shut but slowly became aware of us, opening first one sleepy eye then the other. I was trying to get the manual focus to work so I could find the owl amongst the leaves and twigs. I got there eventually. 

We also spotted a treecreeper, chaffinches, blue tits and great tits, some deer, and a mouse (see extra pic). Altogether, it was a fine final Highland haul for our visitors.

After dropping them off at the airport, we went to Culloden Battlefield for some lunch. I was amused to see a fair bit of the shop stocking Outlander produce. A colouring book? Bonkers. I had to try the 'Culloden Mist' beverage conconction ("an acquired taste", according to the chap serving me). It consisted of Earl Grey tea, steamed milk and vanilla syrup, and tasted fine if a bit sweet.

Fred dropped me off at the folks on the way back to the city, where I caught up with everyone's day. Dad had been out singing at a community centre, Rory had been gardening and Mum had an in-service day in readiness for going back to work this week. Benny was continuing to have fun with tennis balls. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.