shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Scrooge

Today was the grand Glasgow Christmas lights switch on, which made me late for work this morning, as George Square had been closed to traffic, but unfortunately no-one told the bus company (I mean, who'd have thought they might want to plan their detours in advance to minimise inconvenience to the passengers), so I had a huge long detour around the one way system to get back to a bus stop at which the bus driver was allowed to let us off, the whole process bringing out my more Scrooge like tendencies!

Not a good start to what I knew would be a busy day. Actually not a bad one, but very busy indeed, so I was glad to get away at the end of the day and head back through to Glasgow, where I noticed something rather odd about the lights on Buchanan Street, when I passed through BEFORE the switch on (look behind the screen here). Someone can't tell the time it seems, either that or a few circuits are dodgy.

Fantastic evening at QPCC, speaker was Guy Edwardes, who not only showed the most incredible landscape and nature images, but also gave so many great pieces of advice, the vast majority of which were applicable to the large part of the photographic world which doesn't have a 1DX, including me (and Gillipaw). However many or us were struck not only with a severe attack of talent and camera envy, but also torch envy, as he had something which is probably better described as a searchlight for lighting his long exposures in low light conditions. Rather heavy I'd think, but really very impressive indeed! I was so impressed I bought two of his books, which given the state of my budget this month was not sensible, but they were cheaper to buy direct from him, and the advice he had been giving was really good, and I'm far closer to affording one of them than the camera I want! But those images... Words fail me. I really do need to to get up earlier in the mornings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.