Druid Camp Panorama

A back blip, now I'm back from Druid Camp 2018. I thought I'd offer you a glimpse of the place, for those who've expressed an interest, so you can see the sweep of the camp site and the scale of our community gathering. We're in the north of the Forest of Dean and the light brown area to the middle right is the River Severn.

Over the course of the camp I've mainly been blipping the bands in the evening and, nice though they are, they don't give you a feel for the actual stuff that goes on. That is deliberate, because, while there's nothing occult or top secret in Druidry, there is still a prejudice against the pagan paths.

Some of us are teachers, healers, university lecturers, government officials... many cannot be fully present in their day to day lives. It seems daft in this modern and increasingly secular world, but there it is.

Anyhow, the lovely billowing clouds sat atop this lunchtime shot kept us cool, and throughout the week the weather gods generally helped us enjoy the outdoor life. One blast of rain at the start of camp to cleanse the field and it was mostly sun, sun, sun.

As I type this, in my modern home, I harken back to the lovely composting toilets in the woods east and west and wonder why I've just poured litres of good drinking water over my morning poo. Ah, mainstream world, there you are...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.