THE MESSAGE WALL

Up early to go to Morrisons with my friend Jan.  It was good to get the " big  shop " in person instead of ordering online which I have done for the past 3 weeks.

After a late breakfast  (sweet omelette, strawberries and toffee yogurt ) I decided to go to Dalton Park Shopping Outlet.  I hadn't been there before as I thought it might be too difficult on public transport.  However I was speaking to a neighbour the other day and she said she had gone there on the bus so I looked online for the bus times.  This afternoon I got the bus to Gateshead and then the Express bus going to Middlesbrough which stops at Dalton Park. 

I had a good look round.  Lots of cafes and fast food outlets but I manged to resist temptation.  Didn't buy much but it was certainly worth having a look.

Whilst walking around I came across The Message Wall. I took a shot of each side of the wall to form my collage.   During May of this year Durham County Council created  huge message walls at four locations across the county. The walls feature mosaic-like images of County Durham landmarks made from hand-painted lettering.  The words that make up the image are all messages that members of the public have submitted to Durham County Council describing why they are proud of their connections to the area.  The wall features local landmarks including Seaham’s much-loved Tommy statue, the stunning Heritage Coast, Lumley Castle, the Emirates Riverside Ground at Chester-le-Street, a waggon from Beamish Museum, Durham Cathedral and High Force in Teesdale.

The four completed sections were then  joined together to form a huge artwork - a  Message Wall measuring 12 metres long by 2 metres high. The wall will remain at Dalton Park until 7th September.

Becky got in touch this morning and sent photos of her poorly hand.  Its still very bruised and was painful and stiff.  So she wasn't able to go to work - or do anything much except relax on the sofa and watch TV.  She is getting rather frustrated that it isn't healing faster.

Steps today - 11,240

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.