St Chad's Church,Bensham

I have an appointment booked next week to get my hair done -  Groupon deal.  I haven't been to this hairdresser before so I checked the location on Google maps and then decided to do a reconnaissance to see how long it would take me to get there. 

Got the bus to Bensham and then started walking.  Took me around 15 mins to reach the shop.  However when I got there I was surprised to see that the shutters were down and the place was closed up.  Bit of a surprise on a Tues afternoon. According to the website it was supposed to be open.  Maybe they had no appointments and closed early.  Anyway I will give them a ring tomorrow just to check that they still operate from this address or if they have moved.

I walked back to the main road to catch a bus to Newcastle.  On the way I came across this lovely church - St Chads.  Did a bit of research online and found out that it was consecrated in 1903.  The Arts and Crafts building was designed in the Gothic style by William Searle Hicks and contains fine wood carving by Ralph Hedley and beautiful period stained glass windows.

In Newcastle I visited a few charity shops and bought two items, then to T J Hughes where I bought a top and then to Tesco - for fruit.  Caught the bus home around 6pm.  The traffic was bad all the way to my village and it was stop start all the way.

The weather today was warm and muggy. 

Steps today - 9,820

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.