Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Christmas Tale

I needed to get out of the house for a while and I needed some dependable wi-fi so I ended up in a little area of Sprouts Market.  My mind was wandering, as it oft does, and I thought of a story I'd love to share.with you from back in my buck-the-system days (not sure if those have ended yet).

I started my teaching career in Catholic schools in the diocese of Buffalo. At Our Lady of the Sacred Heart it was customary for each class/teacher to plan one of the weekly school masses.  The principal, sister Monica, hated me to put it mildly. I wasn’t very traditional, not the least bit religious and a bit of a live wire.

During my first year as the OLSH math teacher, it was my homeroom's turn to take a crack at organizing the Christmas mass (the week before vacation). The monsignor approved the two readings the class selected and the only thing left to choose was the communion meditation music.

The mass was going beautifully and after all the parents and students received communion, while the church was still and silent, the music began to play. I started to hear the whispers. 'That sounds like Kermit the frog.'  Sure was. In fact, it was one of my all-time favorite songs,  The Rainbow Connection.  Sister Monica was not amused. The kids and parents thought it was awesome.  Other than me being able to giggle a lot afterwards there was another positive outcome. Sister Monica never asked me to plan another mass.

This photo has little to do with silly Saturday but I thought the story would be enjoyable. Wait until I tell you about the Christmas program the following year. She was sooo ticked off!!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.