Allotment day

Well half day. I cycled up to the allotment just after 12. The weather was promising to be perfect allotment temperature. It is so over run with weeds again, my sole aim was to clear the edge bordering our neighbouring plot. Mollie Henry and dad arrived shortly afterwards. We all got stuck in to clearing the weeds, and piling them into the corner where our makeshift compost pile has been growing. Henry and dad managed to fix in place some old fence panels, which will form the start of a proper compost area. I'll work on this later with Jon. Henry did a good job with some string, and dad wedged old fence posts in front to stop them falling forward. I moved some old carpet about, and put the table legs I got from Henry's school last year, back on top. I'm rambling, but it looked so much tidier by the end of my day. I've added a photo in my extras. After 4 hours digging and weeding I was looking forward to a hot bath. Jon cooked tea and I've tried to do a bit of family history research. I didn't really get anywhere. Access to ancestry website has been free all weekend, but to get the most out of it you need to be an organised person, with genealogy as your only hobby. I'm a disorganised person with at least 6 hobbies!! But it's interesting just trawling the information available, while its free.

It has been a nice bank holiday weekend, but saddened by the news of the death of an old school friend's partner. Another lovely young man taken too soon. RIP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.