SEVERAL UNEXPECTED PLEASURES

Mr. HCB and I worked very hard in the garden yesterday and last night I was suffering because my neck was very sore, so this morning we decided that it might be best not to do any more garden work.  

I was due to meet a friend this afternoon for a coffee anyway, so we made a joint decision to go into the library but to have a coffee beforehand - actually, Mr. HCB will be away for four days for the next two weeks at cricket, so I think he was feeling a little guilty - but don't tell him I said so!

We had a good time together and then Mr. HCB came on home then I walked up into Old Town and met my friend, Rachel, for a coffee catch-up.  I always enjoy meeting her and I think we both felt the benefit of chatting to each other about anything and everything.

I decided to walk home through the Lawns and passed a garden I am very fond of - there were lots of beautiful flowers and the Japanese anemones caught my eye, but then I saw these lovely little cyclamen and decided that they would be my Blip for today.

I carried on walking, taking a path I wouldn’t normally take.  There have been several “incidents” in the Lawns parkland area recently, but when I saw a lady and her dog walking down one of the paths, thought there would be safety in numbers.  I caught her up and chatted with her, saying that I had followed her, but wouldn’t have come along this path normally.  She said that even with her dog, she was very careful, as although it was a good guard dog, it could be quite a “soppy” dog - so we walked the rest of the way together.  

I have been doing some serious thinking about Blip and although I am not intending to stop taking my daily photograph, I am seriously considering taking part in Scroll Free September when social media users are being encouraged to log off and maybe just put a quote under my photograph and title.  I left Facebook last November but have put my Blip on Facebook since June, because several friends said they missed seeing it on there, but don’t do anything other than that - so no “likes” and no “comments” since then.  Time will tell if I can do this!

“The difference between 
     technology and slavery 
          is that slaves are fully aware 
               that they are not free” 
Nassim Nicholas Taleb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.