Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Yep, I'm handsome!

I doubt that we have a more striking backyard bird in our area than the Northern Cardinal male. This photo is untouched and his color is just as nature made it. In the winter, the cardinals will stay in family groups; this all comes to an end in the spring when the male will chase all other males out of his territory. This summer was a successful one for our resident pair and there are now 6 cardinals in the winter flock, 3 males and 3 females. There is really nothing at all special about this picture - I just like it because he is so incredibly handsome.

Had a great time on the Aububon walk this morning - 4 hours tromping along the lakes and through the woods. The highlights were seeing a bald eagle hunting ducks (unsuccessfully) and seeing a Northern Shrike, an unusual sighting in our area. The shrike is a predatory bird, and although quite small it will chase and kill songbirds. We watched this one chase a bluebird all over the sky before six other bluebirds mobbed it in mid-air, driving it away. It was incredible to see the aerial chase and all of us were standing with mouths open. I wish the picture was better but it was taken at a very long distance and cropped to bits. More of a "proof" shot than anything else.

I sat in a patch of sun on the deck and watched the antics of the birds at our feeders, as well as the squirrels. We've got one squirrel that I am going to have to blip soon - he is enormous. Apparently I've been feeding him way too well! Highlights today were a nuthatch showing me his tongue and another impressive display of nuthatch aggression.

Tomorrow I am hoping to get out early and try my hand at some macro frost shots - yep, I'm sure you are on the edge of your seats now...hahaha!

Thank you very much for sending my woodpecker to the spotlight - now they are making demands, too. Sigh...

Hoping you all have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.