Nuthatch

I've not achieved as much as I would have liked so far today, but what the heck!

I have zipped the hoover about a bit and wafted a duster a bit more.  I can now render a pretty recognisable version of Bobby Shaftoe on my recorder having extended my musical vocabulary to ten notes (!)  I've scanned in a few more old photos for the ongoing family album and enjoyed rediscovering Jenny's sixth birthday and Becky in her fox outfit made by Granny Elsie.  Outlander Season 2 has arrived so no doubt Tony and I will be catching up with Jamie and Claire soon.  Oh, and it was my turn for breakfast in bed so I finished my latest book, review below.

The feeders are growing busy again and there were a couple of nuthatches going backwards and forwards to the elder tree.  I'm out with the Hobblers this evening and then it's to the drop-in about the proposed development in the centre of the village......

Book:  The Sealwoman's Gift by Sally Magnusson
In the note to this, her first novel, Sally Magnusson writes, ‘History can tell us no more than it does about almost any woman of the time in Iceland or anywhere else, unless she happened to be a queen.’ And from there she weaves her own saga around the life of Asta Thorsteindottir which takes us on a journey from the bleak but epically beautiful shores of seventeenth century Iceland, via a slave ship, to the vibrant cruelty of Algiers. Along the way faith is questioned and family rent apart and there is just a touch of Elfish magic when needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.