Skaill (Day 1219)

After the morning woofer wander I cleared the van out, having amassed a fairly large amount of packaging and general rubbish whilst working on Eday. With that job out of the way I trundled around to a job I didn't really want to do. 
The customer had called me several months ago asking me for an estimate of the labour cost to change a toilet. I suggested that it would be easier to give a price if I could see the toilet, but he was determined I gave him a price over the phone. As soon as I mentioned a cost, he tried his best to beat the price down. He phoned again after a while, asking me to come and fit the loo, as he had bought one. I found time to get to him today, and realised as I arrived at his house and saw the new loo in his garage, that there was no way it would fit in his house. A couple of measurements proved me right. After a bit of discussion, I suggested changing the internals of the cistern in the existing loo. Again he tried to beat me down on price, reasoning that he is a pensioner and unwell, and that he had the extra expense of a loo he couldn't use. 
Needless to say, I have other customers who I would far rather work for.

Back home, I had lunch with my beautiful wife before we headed out to walk the woofers at Skaill. It is a while since we have been there, and when we managed to get out of the cool breeze, it was warm in the sunshine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.