Second Sunrise

As the days get shorter, it's less of a hardship to get up early to watch the sunrise, equally as the days get shorter the colder those mornings become, making the prospect of staying in a warm bed much more appealing!

Not this morning though - a forecast of a clear sky had me up before 7am and heading out to try and get the most of the shorter day.

I headed to the top of the moor where frost was deep and crispy, and I watched and photographed the sunrise. As always it was beautiful, peeking out from behind a rogue cloud, as bright as it's ever been, doing that trick of rising faster as it's crossing the horizon then slowing down.

I'd already caught the best of it but I wasn't ready to put the lens cap on just yet, so I headed down to another favourite local spot where I could get down behind a new horizon and watch the sun rise for a second time, even brighter than the first!

Thanks for the comments on yesterday's photo :o) It really is no hardship to go camping in the hills. It's far better than a campsite. No noisy neighbours (although one time I was kept awake all night by Canada Geese who didn't like me camping by their lake!), if you have the right kit it's not cold at all. I have a sleep mat that's as comfortable as a bed and I've slept at -12 degrees in a cosy sleeping bag that was as warm as if I'd been at home. With a much better view from my window!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.