A Haffy day

I have to admit to spending a fair bit of this morning reading in the sunny kitchen, but after lunch I decided to get some air - and a Blip - and drove down to Pennyfuir Cemetery, a favourite haunt of mine.

The sky to the north was dark and to the south the sun was coming and going, so the light conditions were good. I couldn't help noticing the area down towards Lochan Dubh where the cemetery has been extended, so there'll be room for many more locals in years to come!

While walking past the yard where the council keeps the machinery and various bits of junk I noticed a sign reading 'Haffy' and assumed it was part of some damaged wording containing the word 'Happy'. I thought I'd photograph it as an extra, but only when I uploaded it did I see that it did indeed read 'Haffy'. I Googled it, but apart from Glen Haffy being a conservation area in Canada, the only other meaning was via the 'Urban Dictionary' which suggested a hybrid word between 'Happy' and 'Huffing' meaning 'a state of giddyness resembling being high'. So I assume it must be somebody's name! (I've only just found out thanks to weeflecky that Haffy was the man who cleared the tables at the seafood van on the pier in Oban. He always wore a Royal Stewart tartan cap as I recall. He died in April. Thanks Mairi!)

There were a lot of ripe brambles (blackberries) both inside and outside the cemetery, so I made use of the opportunity though as they were growing through gorse bushes it wasn't the most pleasant of tasks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.