Grasshopper....

....a spur throated grasshopper to be exact, and the most common grasshopper in all of North America. I took Mae back over to the Nojoshing Trail because the weather is so perfect today, and each time we strayed off the path onto the grass we sent up swarms of grasshoppers that took off in all directions!  Mae was scared at first--wanted me to pick her up--but slowly got over it as I pointed out how high & how far they can jump, & how they can grab onto just about any kind of leaf or flower and sit there so easily.   Unfortunately they can inflict damage to crops, so while they aren't my favorite insect, I do hate it when children shriek and scream at "bugs", so I'm trying to get Mae to be a little nature lover instead of a screamer!  :)))
Thanks Debbi/DBifulco for hosting TT this month. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.