Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Open weekend 4

Today I've fulfilled a long-held ambition, to see inside the building I thought was The Pilgrims' Hall.  I've walked passed the side of it endlessly, though as it's in the Cathedral Close and part of Pilgrims School (for posh little boys) I've never had a chance.  But Open Weekend, there is was in the brochure.

In fact, the Hall is not the building I thought.  The Hall is smaller, older and has this magnificent hammer beam roof.  Try it in large for the full cobweb effect, but I thought anyway you'd like to see it.  It's where pilgrims to St Swithun's shrine (in the cathedral) used to put up when they arrived in the city.  A wonderful place. 

I have just read on Wikipedia that this roof in The Pilgrims Hall is "possibly the earliest Hammer beam roof in the country." having been constructed around 1290.  So there you are.

However, just to thicken the plot a bit I got talking to a guy in there who turned out to be the school burser.  He says everyone gets the two halls muddled up and promptly offered to take me round the other!  Well it's fabulous too, but split into various spaces and not quite so knock-out.  Apparently it used to be the stable and coach house.  In Extras is a blip of the side of it I've never seen before.

And that's it from me.  Tomorrow is another day - and a Monday to boot!  Have a happy evening  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.