Double rainbow over the Balmoral Hotel

It's been a big day for weather. It was pouring so heavily on my way to work that I abandoned my walk halfway and caught the bus for the rest of the route. During the day I watched the storm pass by from my office window. Meanwhile an official email went out to advise colleagues reliant on public transport to leave work early to ensure a safe return home.

It was lucky that Laura had already arranged to stay with us after a night out tonight because there was quite a lot of disruption on the trains, and she would have struggled to get back to Glasgow. Instead of suffering a terrible journey west by bus, she and I started our evening with a drink in a cocktail bar on Princes Street (from where I blipped this double rainbow), then met Mr hazelh for a marvellous dinner at Le Roi Fou.

We chose the tasting menu at the restaurant, and worked our way through some of the most delicious food we have ever eaten. There were nine 'courses' in total! The 'main' dishes included oysters, lobster, halibut and grouse. (We did show some restraint by not indulging in the wine pairing.) If only all Wednesday nights could be like this!

Exercise today: walking (12,172 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.