Strawhouse

By strawhouse

VICTORY!!!!!!!!

Our first visit of the season to Vicarage Road today.
Six games without a win last season for Miss E and the opposition today was Spurs. 
Both teams have won their first three matches of the season so something had to give.
I have to be honest and admit I didn't have high hopes, and Miss E's attendance does tend to guarantee that we don't win. No matter how many lucky socks we wear, or lucky Twixes we eat (Miss E's particular favourite superstition!!) 
So it was with some trepidation that we set off. I realised yesterday that the tickets hadn't arrived in the post and had a bit of a panic but I rang the ticket office who said they'd reprint them and we could collect them before the game. Phew!
Unfortunately our usual forty five minute journey turned into an hour and a half. The traffic was horrendous and we crawled in all the way from the M25 roundabout. Uuughhhhh!!
By 3.30pm I was despairing of getting into town, parked, to the chippy for Miss E's large chips with extra, extra, extra salt and vinegar, to the ticket office and to our seats before kick off at 4pm. 
But we made it. Almost! Miss E was in her seat and I was in the loo!!
And she experienced her first win!!!!!! Whoop, whoop!!!!! 
And the best game we've ever seen in the best seats we've had. Just brilliant!!!
As you can see I kept completely calm and took it all in my stride!!
Miss E finally got to experience that euphoria at the final whistle, the ovation, the buzz of the crowd leaving the stadium and heading back down Vicarage Road, the wonderful snippets of conversation - "Only 38 more points to safety!!!!!", "Harry Kane's not all that!", "Joint top of the league!"
The smile on her face!!!
Because we were so late I parked in the shopping centre and ignored the multiple signs that told me gates would be locked an hour after the shops shut at 5pm
I ignored them because I knew we wouldn't get back until after 6pm and couldn't cope with thinking of an alternative place to park when we were already so late.
I rang Mr K at half time and asked him to call the parking company to check if they'd actually enforce it or whether Miss E and I would be forced to sleep on the streets of Watford.
Thankfully the parking company are Watford fans and said that they'd keep the car park open especially. Hooray!!!
It was a funny feeling walking through the shopping centre after 6pm on a Sunday night with it completely deserted apart from the odd beaming Watford fan. Even weirder being one of only three or four cars left in the whole enormous car park.
Thank God we didn't have to leave early, I wouldn't have missed that last half hour for the world!!
Come on you "Orns!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.