The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Derelict Swing in the Heavens #DS107

My schoolfriend Elspeth arrived this morning. I was working, so CleanSteve picked her up from Bristol airport. They met me at my workplace at the end of my duty, and we drove home for lunch.

I haven't seen Elspeth since we went on a trip to Holland in January, when I was ill. Good to see her again, when I could actually talk without coughing! The morning' s rain had stopped, and we decided to go for a walk. First we had to walk into Stroud to get some shoes for Elspeth, who hadn't got my message about sensible footwear! We found some in Millett's, went for a coffee upstairs in Curio, then returned to base.

From there we went on a circuit of the two valleys, the Horns and the Heavens. The paths are steep in places, and slippery, but we took in some fabulous views out over the Severn Estuary and into Wales. Up near the house called the Heavens, we found this swing covered in soft green moss. How long since anyone sat on it?
It reminds me of our swing set in Ireland, which was once painted red and blue. We got it from an offer on the back of the Rice Krispies packet.

All things must pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.