My Five a Day

This constitutes one of my 5 a day the other 4 are in the soup pan where a lot of their inherent goodness will be lost in the cooking.

It was not a day that threw up many potential blips. There was much hanging around waiting for boiler maintenance men to turn up. Between 8am and 12 noon, they said and of course they eventually appeared at 11:50 am.
There was therefore time for the soup making and to let two visitors cross the threshold before the maintenance man appeared..

There was a hiatus when I tried to replace the bulb in one of those countersunk ceiling spotlights so beloved of interior furnishers but which are the very devil to negotiate to allow for the the replacing of a failed light.

Standing on a shoogly aluminium ladder trying to position two thin metal prongs into two tiny holes in the light fitting above one’s head is an art which has all but escaped me. However having finally managed, I reckoned I could become proficient in the end, considering there are another 20 of the blighters scattered on the rest of the ceilings throughout the house. Double sided sellotape between the fingers and the bulb to stop it slipping to the ground could make everything easier. I might even take out a patent but basically they should be banned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.