25 Years

I left school in 1993 and got a job in a home for mentally disabled. I worked there for a couple of years and then I went back to school, but continued working in the same place part time. 

In 2000 I got a new job in Ringsted and later I was head hunted for a job in the Kennel Club. 

Eventually - 9 years ago - I got the job I have now. 

Some of the residents, that lived in the home, where I started working back in 1993 have moved and do now live in the home, where I work today. This means that I have known a couple of the residents for 25 years - since 1993.

It means a lot to especially one of the residents, that we have known each other for so long. She kept talking about our 25 years anniversary and it was obvious that she really wanted to mark the occasion somehow, but she didn't quite know how to do it. 

A couple of weeks ago, one of the nurses in the home suggested that they could help her make a surprise party for me/us. Obviously it wasn't really a surprise as I have a busy schedule, so I needed to know when they wanted me to be there. It would be awful, if the residents had put a lot of effort into a surprise and then I left for a meeting or something before they got a chance to surprise me! 

So today was the big day. The staff and residents had made coffee and cake and then they came to my office and asked me to follow them to the living room. Of course I acted very surprised.

It was such a lovely and special day. It meant so much to the elderly lady - she was very touched by it all. And to see her so emotional and happy made me very happy too. It was wonderful. 

After work, I took the boys for a walk in the woods. We also did some Nose Work searches - just for the fun of it. The weather was just too nice not to stay outside and do something. 

I have sorted good luck presents and cards this afternoon/evening and now I am ready to settle with some Netflix.

Happy weekend 
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.