Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

I almost missed seeing this very tiny Eastern Garter snake baby, tucked in a hosta leaf next to the deck.  In fact, I'm not really sure how I spotted it since it was staying perfectly still, looking for all the world like a twig.  Happily, I had a camera strapped to my shoulder so I managed a few shots before the little dude disappeared into the foliage.  I'd estimate this one to be less than 10 inches with a head about the size of the pad of my pinkie finger.  The smallest garter snake I've seen.  Last week, Hubs spotted another baby in a tree out front, so it seems like we may have a nice little population of these tiny serpents around the property.  Now, let's just hope he stays out of sight of the blue jays who would gladly make a meal of him.  

It was raining and quite cool this morning but now the sun is finally out (which probably explains why the wee snake was out) and although it's not exactly warm, it's pleasant enough.  One monarch arrived today (#202) but I am keeping her inside until tomorrow when the temperatures will be more favorable for flying.  

This afternoon when I was happily pottering about in my office upstairs, I watched a squirrel bury a hickory nut in the yard...and a chipmunk come along a couple of minutes later and dig it up.  Then, I heard a faint tapping on the window and found myself face-to-face with a young Carolina Wren who was looking for insects on the window sill.  Must remember to hang a feeder from the window up here.

And speaking of my sanctuary upstairs work space, the missing part of the futon finally arrived yesterday so now I have a wonderfully comfortable place to curl up with a book and a cuppa.  I love this space - it's very cozy and comfortable and filled with warm colors.  All enhanced by a sweeping view over the garden, yard and woods.  

Fall is creeping inexorably closer...the leaves on the big maple trees in our woods are starting to show signs of yellow while the witch hazel is just ejecting its leaves. Big nuts are falling from all the hickories and berries on the poke weed are ripening. 

Lastly, but not leastly, I'm so very happy to announce that our own WWombat, who originally started TinyTuesday, will be hosting for the month of October.  The tag for next week will be #TT175.  

Happy Friday.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.