Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blue headed vireo - #42

Can't think of many better ways to start the day than photographing neo-tropic migrant birds from my deck.  I was keeping an eye on the two young cardinals when I caught the unmistakable fluttering of a warbler.  Only, in this case it was actually a vireo.  I usually only see these birds (and rarely, at that) in spring and fall during migration.  Generally, their breeding range starts a bit north of us although some probably breed here in northern New Jersey.  Winters are spent from the southeastern US all the way down into Central America.  

As is usually the case in fall migration, this little bird wasn't alone.  I could see fluttering up in the trees as other small migrants were gleaning insects and larvae from the upper canopy.  And, luckily for me, a female Black-throated Blue Warbler (Yard Bird #43) came down to eye level, allowing me some reasonable shots.  See Extra for one (heavily cropped) shot). It shows the female which has a very distinct white eye-brow and white wing patch.  She looks nothing like her male counterpart (click HERE for  a male I blipped in 2012 in our yard).

Hubs and I spent some time getting the RV ready for our last trip of the season.  We are heading out mid-day tomorrow for a couple of days in Pennsylvania - same place we stayed last time.  I will probably try to post an early blip tomorrow, but we'll see...

Monarch #56, a female, was released today. When she finally took flight she went so high up in the air that I almost couldn't see her.  She was joined up there by a second monarch - I think they were trying to find a thermal to speed them on their journey.  Only one last chrysalid to go.  I will probably take it with us, just in case it ecloses while we are away.  

I hope everyone is having a great weekend.  Thank you for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.