Journey Through Time

By Sue

Multi-Tasking

This Scrub Jay isn't as good of a shot as yesterday's Flicker and I do want to thank you all for the many stars and hearts. But I did get it with the peanut prize in his beak...so points for that.

You guys all made me feel like I wasn't doing my job, offering peanuts to the wild ones, so I bought some and I put them out last week. You know how I said there weren't that many squirrels around here anymore. Well, that's not true! The word got out, and there were four or five of them snooping around. So, I pulled back on the peanuts. Today, after all that rain, the sun came out and the birds were happy. I put out a few peanuts and then I had about 4 Stellar Jays and a couple of Scrub Jays fighting over the peanuts. Bill came up with the idea of moving the peanuts closer to the back door, so we put some in this pot and soon they were swooping and diving all over the place. That seemed to bring everybody around, and there were juncos and a varied thrush and a spotted towhee all bouncing around the back yard.

My son said, "how can you cook and clean and take pictures, Mom?" I was multi-tasking today. Made the potatoes so that they just needed to be heated up tomorrow. Son cleaned the bathroom and I inspected. Bill and he also re-arrainged the furniture to make room for the expanded table. You know, pre Thanksgiving stuff.

So, gotta go. Can't promise to see anyone's journal until after the festivities.

Hope those that are celebrating Thanksgiving tomorrow have a wonderful time with family and friends. Those that aren't...have a good day also.

Oh, and today was my Mother In Law's birthday. She was born in 1908. Teddy Roosevelt was president and William H. Taft had just won the election. A different era entirely. Happy birthday, Ethel. And for your enlightenment (and mine):

Top Female Names of 1908

1 Mary
2 Helen
3 Margaret
4 Ruth
5 Anna
6 Dorothy
7 Elizabeth
8 Mildred
9 Alice
10 Marie
11 Florence
12 Ethel

Catch ya later my friends,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.