Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

What Time Is It?

I was walking down a trail when I noticed this very, very old sundial completely engulfed by tall weeds.  I do know how to read a sundial: one of my secret talents. I was a little bit far away so I couldn't quite see the shadow.  I do know from my camera data that it was 2:15.  That would put the shadow, measuring approximate solar time, somewhere behind the leaf to the left of the nodus.  But the big question is why was it out in the middle of nowhere?  Those weeds were really tall and the size of the thing was substantial.  Maybe it was placed there by aliens (from space, not Mexico) centuries ago!

Alma came to visit Mom and I later in the day.  I'm sad because she will be moving to Connecticut in less than 3 weeks to live with her daughters.  Almost eight years ago it was she who got me interested in photography.  It was she who gave me my first lessons and tips on what the hell I should be doing.  She was the person I called when I had my life-threatening head injury in 2016 and looked out for my mom, driving her over an hour every day to see me when I was in the ICU.  I'm truly going to miss her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.