Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A celebration

Another beautiful sunny day today, this early autumn weather is so enjoyable at the moment. 

I woke up feeling a bit nervous about the celebrations tonight, in case something did not go according to plan. When Adam woke up and told me that someone had cancelled due to illness but he had invited two more people in their place....I mean, what is the logic in that? I explained that we had finalised the numbers and menus yesterday so he just had to un-invite one person! (I admit to not saying it in a calm voice)

Luke and Meriel made salads for lunch and then after lunch I went off to shower and do my hair etc. We were all dressed and ready half an hour before we were due to leave home so that I could take some photos - this one of the celebrants, Adam celebrating his 21st birthday and Gavin and I celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary - and was taken by Luke. There is an extra of the whole family. 

We arrived at the venue in London in time to check on last minute things and for us to place all the name place cards on the tables. The guests started arriving and the party began! We had delicious food, a great DJ, and there were a few speeches - Adam did one about Gavin and I and Adam's friends did two speeches about him - let's just say that his friends know him well and love him dearly and did not mind ripping into him with their speeches! We all saw the funny side of it and laughed and nobody took offence! His friends were a mixture of people from school and university and they were all perfectly charming and lovely people - many who we had not yet met came up to us and introduced themselves and thanked us for the party, nice to see such good manners.

It was a wonderful evening and it finished at the venue at midnight, when us oldies got a taxi home again while the young adults went on to a night club and will probably continue partying until dawn. It is now 1.45am and I am quickly uploading this before going to bed.

PS. At the last minute I decided not to wear the new dress I bought for this function but rather wore something I have worn before!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.